In Awe of the Pink Porch

Caitlind_Suzen1

Caitlind_Suzen2

Those walking through WRECK CITY’s neighbourhood will notice that a very pink resident has taken up perch on the front porch of the Lady House. Come snow or shine, Suzen Green is weaving vivaciously, massaging pink yarn into the chilly gray neighbourhood.

Caitlind_Suzen2_5 Caitlind_Suzen3 Caitlind_Suzen4 Caitlind_Suzen5

Caitlind_Suzen6

IMG_1796 IMG_1797

Curated by Jennifer Crighton, Suzen is part of a household of lady Artists and Craftspeople, crocheting, knitting, baking, collaging, sculpting, painting, and weaving a feminine experience in reaction to the show’s title “We’re Hysterical!” More information about this house (and it’s mysterious name!) will be posted in the coming days by Jennifer Crighton herself, but in the meantime, we’re sharing a blog post by Suzen borrowed from her website, Not A Lazy Suzen!

Suzen1

RE-POSTED BLOG BY WRECK CITY ARTIST SUZEN GREEN

With the beautiful weather we had yesterday (+19ºC), I packed up my bike and made my way to our little lady house in Sunnyside to start the installation of my massive pillow top frames. With hammer, nails and bright pink yarn, I started working on the front porch using the natural frame of the railing to create a huge pillow top frame. Thank goodness it was warm out because all that hammering would have been crazy annoying to do in the cold weather we had today.

Here are some shots of the work in progress. It’s definitely trial by error at this point but I think this is going to work!

Suzen4

Suzen2

Suzen3

The weather turned completely today but that didn’t stop me from heading over to the house to continue what I initially started the day before. I made sure to wear two pairs of leggings, my winter boots, two jackets with hoods and my trusty merino-possum gloves to make sure I was toasty enough to do the labour-intensive work while it snowed and snowed and snowed outside. I worked until my hands got too cold to tie anymore knots – I kept snapping the cotton twine when I tried to pull things tight and that’s a sure sign that I’m done for the day.

I’ll be heading back after work tomorrow to continue the work. I’m hoping to have this initial pillow top weaving tied and cut by tomorrow evening so I can start working on another one that’s much more dense that will eventually stay mounted on the porch during the entirety of the WRECK CITY YYC exhibition, like a flag for our wee little lady house.

Suzen5

Suzen6


One thought on “In Awe of the Pink Porch

Leave a Reply

